When the Mama Claws come out, keep yours in

Mama Claws, the definition of when one mom lashes out at another mom because she is not happy with something that another child did to her child. Some claws come out without warning, scratching violently at their victim. The victim quickly defends her child becoming the lion she never thought was in her. Hearts pounding, adrenaline pumping, mascara running! Woman’s faces that were so peacefully enjoying their children’s play have turned into ugly crinkled up foreheads, scowling lips and red faces. Just a minute ago they were sweet caring mommies with their precious little ones. So what’s the deal? Sweet little junior who was having a wonderful time for over an hour, with your child, suddenly gets hurt. Its the classic case of playtime getting out of hand or playtime gone wrong.  So Mama claw decides to lash out at Your child. You see it, you must address it. How do you address it? The first Feeling, and I really empathize the word Feeling, is anger. How dare you speak to MY child that way! This is a child, that you are hounding down with pointed finger and not to mention scaring the heck out of! Get Away From My Kid or I’ll Bust You up! Even before knowing what my child may have done,I’m already raging inside, heart pumping wildly and Claws…yes, Claws ready to come out. Stop!! Put on the brakes already, I tell myself. I’m already dealing with a raging claws out mama, ready to fight woman so why feed her fire? So, I simply state that it is My child she is speaking to and what seems to be the problem? The now half cat, half woman starts to ramble on about how her child got hurt and bla bla bla. I, already knowing how much fun they were all having, immediately apologize, stating that my child is not violent, however I am very sorry for what he had done. Now, at this moment, I am giving her the benefit of the doubt, not having spoken to my child to hear his side. All I can see is my son crying and shaking from afar over this cat woman who was “after him.” After my sincere apology, I see her claws retract. I then explained to her how much fun they were all having earlier (apparently she did not notice as she was chatting on her phone) and how her child was chasing mine with a water gun and how they were all laughing yadda yadda. Her crinkled up brow and her red face disappeared. I explained that it seemed as if it was playtime escalating and getting out of hand. She then softened, I apologized again and she said “Its ok.” smiled and walked away. Phew!!!! What a relief! I felt calm inside, I felt peace. God was with me, guiding me in this situation. It could have easily gone the other way. My poor boy was upset, angry and ready to fight! He had been kicked in the stomach apparently and was trying to get away, thus hurting her child. He wanted justice, he wanted me to go tell her, tell her what her child did. It was hard, but I simply told him that it was not worth it. The mama was upset that her child got hurt and that’s all she could see. She could not see how much fun they were all having and that it was just play getting out of hand. My son learned a few things that day. We spoke about self control, about focusing on all the fun he had with her child and about a mothers “claws”.

 Her mama claws came out at my boy.  She could have been nicer I suppose.  She could have spoken to my son in a nicer , non threatening way but that was not what she did.  I told my son that her Mamma Claws came out, but I decided to keep mine in.

Ahhhh…playtime…Its all fun and a bag of fishie crackers until the other kid gets hurt. Now all you mamas out there have compassion, be nice and keep the claws in! Why? Because the mama said so!

One thought on “When the Mama Claws come out, keep yours in

  1. Pingback: When the Mama Claws come out, keep yours in | becausethemamasaidso's Blog

Leave a Reply

